Remove Ability to Create Groups

Want to remove a user's ability to create Groups? The Unity Standard User permission set allows users to create Groups by default and can not be edited as it is a managed permission set. Not to fear, creating a new permission set with altered permissions will accomplish what you are looking for. To create such a permission set:

  1. Navigate to Setup > Manage Users > Permission Sets.
  2. Click "Clone" next to the Unity Standard User permission set.
  3. Create a name for your new permission set.
  4. Click the Save button.
  5. Click on the name of your new permission set.
  6. Click the Object Settings link.
  7. Click the Community Group Controls link.
  8. Click the Edit button.
  9. Populate the permissions to match those within the screenshot below.

    Screenshot_at_Jul_05_10-50-20.png

  10. Click the Save button.

 

After your new permission set is created, be sure to assign the permission set to users you wish to remove Event creation access from. To do so:

  1. Navigate to the user's record: Setup > Manage Users > Users > Click the name of the user.
  2. Click the Edit Assignments button within the Permission Sets related list.
  3. Move your new permission set to the "Enable Permission Sets" list and move the Unity Standard User permission set to the "Available Permission Sets" list.
  4. Click the Save button.

That's it! The user should no longer have the ability to create Groups. Remember to assign the permission set to all other intended users.

Note: If the user is still able to create Groups, check their profile to ensure they do not have Group creation permissions enabled. Changing permissions on the profile will affect all users assigned to that profile. If the user has Group creation permissions enabled on the profile; clone the profile and follow similar steps above but on the profile level in order to prevent affecting other users.

Was this article helpful?

Sorry this wasn't helpful. Please reach out to your admin for support.